CCLI Curriculum

Text:
Increase font size
Decrease font size

DSC01229The Cultural Competence Leadership Institute more directly addresses multi-sector demands for a student skill competency profile that integrates leadership, cultural competency, soft skill proficiency, and a global mindset. It prepares a diverse pipeline of top-tier undergraduate talent to be successful in an ever-changing multicultural society and global economy. The curriculum is carefully crafted by the advisory group based on current industry trends and hiring needs of employers. Reading materials are provided to each of the scholars prior to the session. Each session is a combination of a lecture, an experiential learning activity, a cultural competence challenge, reporting on projects and readings and a leadership learning opportunity. A listing of the sessions for 2013-2014 is below.

 

 “Setting the Context for Courageous Conversations around Diversity, Inclusion, Cultural Competence and Leadership” Thursday, September 12/5:30-8:30pm /Session I& Opening Reception @Loudermilk Center for Academic Excellence
“The Demographic Imperative For Cultural Competence” Saturday, September 28 / 9am-12pm/Upendo Lounge
“Identifying and Developing Your Personal Leadership Style” Thursday, October 10 / 5:30-7:30pm/Upendo Lounge
“Understanding Diversity and Inclusion In a Corporate and Workplace Context” Saturday, October 26 / 9am-12pm/Upendo Lounge
Cultural Competence, Agility, Dexterity and Intelligence” Thursday, November 7 / 5:30-7:30pm/Upendo Lounge
Unconscious Bias, Micro Aggressions, Inequities and Affirmations Thursday, November 21 / 5:30-7:30pm/Upendo Lounge
Oppression, Power, Privilege, and Invisible Barriers Saturday, November 23 / 9am-12pm/Upendo Lounge
“Emotional Intelligence and Cultural Competence” Thursday, January 16, 2014 / 5:30-7:30pm/Upendo Lounge
MLK Day of Service Saturday, January 25 2014 / 8am-1pm
“Being Your Own Brand Ambassador” Thursday, February 6 /2014 5:30pm–7:30pm/Upendo Lounge
“Retelling Your Carolina Story” Saturday, February 15, 2014 / 8:30-12pm/Upendo Lounge
“The Diversity Edge” Thursday, February 27, 2014 / 5:30pm–7:30pm /Upendo Lounge
Final Presentations Wednesday, March 5, 2014 / 5:30pm–9pm/@ Loudermilk Center for Academic Excellence